Tässä on aivan mainio biisi teille kuultavaksi. Kuunnelkaapa sitä Ernien äänen sointia. Tätä biisiä mä kuuntelen kesäkodissa grammarilla. Savikiekon rätinä luo aidon hiilikaivos-tunnelman. Hien melkein haistaa!  

By Merle Travis

Some people say a man is made out of mud
A poor man's made out of muscle and blood
Muscle and blood, skin and bones...
A mind that's weak and a back that's strong

Chorus

You load sixteen tons, and what do you get?
another day older and deeper in debt
St. Peter, don't you call me, 'cause I can't go
I owe my soul to the company store
 
I was born one mornin' and the sun didn't shine 
I picked up my shovel and I walked to the mine
I loaded sixteen tons of number nine coal and 
the straw boss said, "well bless my soul!" 
.....you loaded...
 
(Chorus)
 
I was born one mornin' it was drizzlin' rain 
fightin' and trouble are my middle name 
I was raised in a cane-brake by an old mama lion 
can't no high-toned woman make me walk no line
 
(Chorus)
 
If you see me comin', better step aside
A lot of men didn't, a lot of men died
One fist of iron, the other of steel
If the right one don't get you, then the left one will
 
(Chorus)
 
You load sixteen tons, and what do you get?
Another day older and deeper in debt
St. Peter don't you call me, 'cause I can't go
I owe my soul to the company store
 
"Sixteen Tons"/ Copyright / Merle's Girls Music ~ All Rights Reserved

Ja kappas. Ernie on laulanut myös Johnny Cashin kanssa. Näitä helmiä löytyy ihan vahingossa: